Chelsea 2-1 Palmeiras (aet): Kai Havertz winner secures Club World Cup for Blues



Kai Havertz
Kai Havertz also scored the winner in the Champions League final

Chelsea lifted the Club World Cup for the first time after an extra-time win against Brazilian side Palmeiras.

A 117th-minute penalty in Abu Dhabi by Kai Havertz – who scored their 2021 Champions League winner – means the Blues have now won every possible trophy under owner Roman Abramovich.

Romelu Lukaku opened the scoring with a header in the second half before Raphael Veiga leveled from the spot.

Palmeiras defender Luan was sent off in added time.

Much like in their semi-final victory against Al-Hilal, Chelsea dominated possession but struggled to create chances for much of the game.

Their cutting edge did not improve when Mason Mount was forced off through injury, as he was in his recent FA Cup tie with Plymouth, as Romelu Lukaku continued to cut an isolated figure up front.

Palmeiras, meanwhile, looked to make the most of their threat on the counter-attack, with the pace of Rony and Dudu stretching the Blues defense but clear-cut chances were hard to come by.

Nine minutes after the break, Lukaku made the breakthrough when Callum Hudson-Odoi sent in a pinpoint cross for the first time and the striker powered a header past Weverton.

Christian Pulisic, Mount’s replacement, went close with a shot from distance after a smart lay-off from Lukaku as the English side looked to cement their control.

But just past the hour, Palmeiras restored parity. Thiago Silva was adjudged to have handled in the area after a check on the pitch-side monitor and Veiga converted emphatically from 12 yards to send the game into extra time.

With a penalty shoot-out looming, Chelsea secured the trophy with a penalty of their own. Luan’s handball was also checked on the monitor before Germany playmaker Havertz fired home.

Luan was then dismissed for a foul on the match winner in the final minute, after the referee was told to consult with his monitor for a third time.



Formation 3-4-2-1

  • 16Mendy
  • 4ChristensenSubstituted forSarrat 90′minutes
  • 6Thiago Silva
  • 2Rudiger
  • 28azpilicueta
  • 7Kanté
  • 8KovacicSubstituted forZiyechat 90′minutes
  • 20Hudson-OdoiSubstituted forsaúlat 77′minutes
  • 19MountSubstituted forPulisicat 31′minutes
  • 29HavertzBooked at 118mins
  • 9LukakuSubstituted forWernerat 76′minutes


  • 1Arrizabalaga
  • 3Alonso
  • 5Jorginho
  • 10Pulisic
  • 11Werner
  • 13bettinelli
  • 14Chalobah
  • 17saúl
  • 18Barkley
  • 22Ziyech
  • 23kenedy
  • 31Sarr


Formation 5-4-1

  • 21Pereira da Silva
  • 2Rocha AquinoSubstituted forBrum Silva Acostaat 118′minutes
  • 13Garcia TeixeiraBooked at 120mins
  • 15gomez
  • 22Piquerez
  • 14Furtado Scarpa
  • 10da Silva BarbosaSubstituted forRibeiro Silvaat 77′minutesBooked at 105mins
  • 28dos Santos de Oliveira
  • 8VivianSubstituted forMarques Siqueiraat 60′minutes
  • 7Pereira Rodrigues SoteroSubstituted forNavarro Lealat 103′minutes
  • 23Cavalcante VeigaSubstituted foratuestaat 78′minutesBooked at 116mins


  • 4Kuscevic
  • 6de Oliveira Moraes
  • 11Ribeiro Silva
  • 12Rocha de Oliveira
  • 16Brum Silva Acosta
  • 19Vasconcelos Lopes
  • 20atuesta
  • 26Cerqueira Paim
  • 29Navarro Leal
  • 30Marques Siqueira
  • 31Oliveira Mendes
  • 42Lomba do Nascimento

Live Text



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here